Date: 26th April 2018 at 7:00am
Written by:

A look back at what happened on this day April 26th in the history of Leeds United.

Leeds have played on 16 occasions on this day during their history.

*On this day in 1924, Leeds secured the title as they won promotion to the top-flight for the first time in their history with a 1-0 home win over Nelson.

**On this day in 1992, Leeds United clinched the last ever First Division championship with a 3-2 win at Sheffield United.

Alan Cork gave Sheffield United the lead before Rod Wallace equalised just before half time.

Jon Newsome put Leeds ahead but that was cancelled out when Lee Chapman diverted a John Pemberton cross into his own net.

Brian Gayle then scored a bizarre own goal to gift Leeds the three points.

Leeds then had to wait for the outcome of the Liverpool v Manchester United game later in the day. Liverpool beat Manchester United 2-0 and Leeds were crowned the champions of England in only their second season back in the top flight.

Leeds were the last Champions of the old First Division before the birth of the Premier League in 1992.


1924*    Nelson  H             W 1-0    Division 2

1930       Manchester United        H             W 3-1    Division 1

1947       Derby County    A             L 1-2       Division 1

1950       Blackburn Rovers             H             W 2-1    Division 2

1952       Coventry City     H             W 3-1    Division 2

1958       Newcastle United            A             W 2-1    Division 1

1965       Birmingham City               A             D 3-3      Division 1

1971       Arsenal H             W 1-0    Division 1

1975       Wolverhampton Wanderers       A             D 1-1      Division 1

1977       West Ham United            H             D 1-1      Division 1

1978       Aston Villa           A             L 1-3       Division 1

1980       Wolverhampton Wanderers       A             L 1-3       Division 1

1986       Carlisle United   H             W 2-0    Division 2

1992** Sheffield United               A             W 3-2    Division 1

2003       Blackburn Rovers             H             L 2-3       Premiership

2014 Birmingham City A W 3-1 Championship


Your Comment